Newbie here and need ADVICE!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

vervoren03

Original poster
Jan 3, 2014
Hey everyone! I just got a Masterbuilt 30 inch electric smoker and will do my first smoke within the next few weeks. I'm thinking I will do a pork loin or some kind of but. Here are some questions I have so hopefully you all can help me?

Do I need to use water in the water pan? If so how much?

Is it good to place the meat directly on the rack or have foil under it or even wrap?

How often should I be adding chips? I was thinking about doing a long smoke so probably cook at least 4 to 5 hours? Also what's a good temp for that?

Well that's it for now but I'm sure I will have more later

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Josh