Newbie having disappointing results.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

puds123

Original poster
Apr 20, 2012
Wasaga Beach Ontario
Hi everyone. 

I am very new to smoking and live in Ontario.  I am having problems getting my desired results and am hoping that you guys can help me!!

This week I purchased a Cajun Injector electric smoker.  Very excited I unpacked and set it up and did my 2 hour season smoke.  Wednesday, I got home from work eager to throw something into the smoker.  I had a small pork boneless rib roast - about 1.5lb, so I seasoned it with paprika, salt, pepper, garlic and brown sugar while I heated up the smoker.  Water in the tray and I used Sugar maple wood chunks.  When it was up to temp, I put the pork in, inserted the probe thermometer, shut the door and crossed my fingers.  I set the temp for 225.  I checked the wood chunks every so often and topped up when there was no smoke coming out of the top.  3 hrs later and when the inside temp registered at 145 degrees, I pulled the pork out.  The result wasn't a pulled pork texture, but more of a pork steak (probably the piece of meat I used) but it was wet and I didn't like the texture, so I let it sit for an hour or so and the texture improved, but the smoke flavour was WAY too much.  After tasting a little piece you were left with the smoke taste for an hour later.  Not pleasurable at all.

So I figured that the chips were maybe too strong or that the damper on the back should have been open more or that the piece of meat that I used wasn't suitable.