New to the forum, from Westminster, Maryland

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

midnightbrewer

Original poster
Nov 20, 2013
Westminster, MD.
Hi there! I'm a newbie to the site & just want to give you a little insight. My name is Kevin. I am 58 years old, married to my wonderful wife for 26 years, & we have a 22 year old son.

I have been homebrewing beer, wine, & mead for about 20 years. I also like to cook, fun stuff like chili & meatloaf. About 6-7 years ago, I bought a vertical Masterbuilt 7 in 1 Smoker combo. I've been hooked ever since. My favorite item to smoke are "bone-in pork butts" for pulled pork. I love taking a day off to spend 12 hours smoking a couple of butts. It's a chance to reflect, read a drink a couple homebrews, & smoke a nice Arturo Fuente (don't tell the wife)! I also do wings, ribs, & whole chickens. My next thing on my list is to conquer briskets.

I also use Char-broil Duo Gas-Charcoal 5050 grille. I plan on buying the add-on fire box for it so I can learn to smoke with charcoal. I am also planning to purchase a new smoker, like the Masterbuilt GS30D 2-door vertical or the Landmann 3895GLA.

I am looking forward to getting help & giving help whenever I can.

Last edited: