New Smoking Member

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigrnm13

Original poster
Jul 15, 2010
Hi All,

I am new to this site.  First of all, thank you for allowing me to join.  Second, I am completely new to smoking.  A friend has gratiously (I think.  Might have an alterior motive) given me a second hand smoker.  I am picking it up this Sunday.  Have not seen it yet.  But he says it works fine.  I believe he said it was a horizontal smoker, not vertical like the Rocky Mountain Smoker.  My question is, once I get the fire going, and have it to the temp that I want, and if the temp starts going down, how do I raise it up again.  I know that you have to add more charcoal, but does it have to be lit already, or do I just add the new charcoal on top of the old one, and it will lite itself up?

Be patent with me, I will probably have a lot of more questions before I start, or after I start. 

I think I am going to start with chicken.

thank you,

Big R

welcome and enjoy.

leave your exhaust wide open and control your temp with your air intake. i dont use charcoal except to start. i keep adding wood after it cooks down though. 

someone will be around to offer more info

Last edited:
Welcome to the SMF, I see you've gotten a reply to your question. I moved your thread to roll call, so that everyone will have the chance to greet you. It;s all good my friend.

Welcome to SMF!

Do a search for the minion method .This is the best way i found to use charcoal in my offset.

If you are going to do chicken check into  tips slaughterhouse brine to brine the chicken.

I will never cook poultry on my smoker or in the oven without brining again.

I think both the minion method and the brine are listed in the wiki section of SMF.