new smoker from Oregon

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

huntingoregon

Original poster
Mar 12, 2014
I am new to the SMF and I decided to join because since I started smoking (2 weeks ago) I decided to go online and find information about smoking salmon. Well I stumbled upon this website which helped me tons. So I figured I join and take all the info and knowledge from all you fine folks. Growing up in the Northwest (OR) where the fishing and hunting is pretty much awesome, the smoking is almost second nature to a lot of people so im surprised it took me this long to actually get into it, or should i say try it for myself. So I am a new to the smoking meats and fish. I am 26 years old, I live in Oregon. I started on a little chief smoking salmon. So far i think i did ok for the first few times but I wanna take it to the next level. I want to start getting good at smoking ribs and meats and of course fish. 

looking forward to learning some cool smoking skills!

Hey welcome. You need an old refrigerator and an electric heating element from a cook top..like your wife has in the kitchen..most are 220 so only hook up one loop to bring it too 110 v. So after you do whatever magic you got to offer put the fish in there with the element..which has a pie pan on top and a chunk of wood in the pie pan. Shut the door and come back tomorrow. That is how the pro Salmon smokers from the Left Coast handle that chore. Alder wood young man..Alader wood. Whatever that is.