New smoker from Ames, IA

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mikeserve

Original poster
Jun 7, 2009
Ames, IA
Hi, my name is Mike, I'm 25 years old, and I'm a complete smoking noob. I just bought a Royal Oak electric smoker this morning and smoked some chicken this afternoon. The smoker worked pretty well except my chicken didn't have any smoke flavor. I posted a question on the electric smoker forum, so hopefully someone can help me out with that issue.

My main hobby is homebrewing. I've been homebrewing beer for the last 4 years or so and have gotten quite good at that. I'm the president of the Ames Brewers League and also attend the Iowa Brewers Union meetings. Here's my brewing website in case anyone is interested: http://www.mikebeer.net Several of my brewclub members also smoke meat while brewing. They say it makes for a nice day of brewing, smoking, and drinking so I thought I'd give it a try.

Hopefully I will be able to learn from some masters on this forum and turn out some great bbq and smoked food.

WELCOME Mike, we NEED to talk, I like good home brew, and BTW, I just live over in Nevada,

Welcome from Des Moines (though I work in Ames)! This is a great site (I'm a relative noob too), with TONS of excellent info and very helpful, nice people. I'm a homebrewer too - been at it for a number of years!

Prost!
Trout

Welcome aboard! You guys should come ta the Iowa Gatherin weekend a June the 20th! Gonna be alotta good smokers there an a Hoot of a time ta boot! Let me know ifin yer interested an we get yall on the list. Gonna start on thursday an end that sunday. Come fer the whole weekend er just a day er two!