• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dennis

Original poster
Dec 31, 2005
Hi!
I live in Japan, am a furniture maker by trade (lots of free wood chips!).
In my shop is a big hand made wood stove made from a large piece of flat steel bent into a big pipe shape, capped at one end and with a large door in the other. I also grill and smoke in it besides heating the place (cold winters here). Inside is a removable grate that is elevated above the fire. I like it because I can control the heat and amount of smoke somewhat independent of each other. I had a party in my shop yesterday, four guys sitting around the stove as I put in and took out various taste treats, of course accompanied by sufficient liquid refreshment. After pulling out the cooked meats, I can set them on top of the stove where there is a flat elevated plate to keep things warm until consumption, and I can do it all while sitting down! I haven't heard of anyone cooking like this in a stove, but it works great. Happy to meet ya, bon appetite!

Dennis

Welcome, Dennis!! The Smoking Meat Forums is a truly "international" forum. It's nice to be able to "sit" and visit with friends while smoking meats and other goodies while enjoying liquid refreshments. The camaraderie that's developed is an added benefit of your art! What kind of temperature do you maintain in your stove (as you called it) and how do you control you heat temps? Please tell us more about what you like to 'que and how you do it. Hope you will learn a lot here.

Hi Dennis,

The internet is a great thing! How else could we sit in the comfort of our homes and share our interestes with new found friends so far apart. I'd like to welcome you too.

Mike