• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dinosaurs

Original poster
Dec 11, 2011
Blacksburg, VA
I came across this forum while looking for some beef round sirloin tip roast recipes and figured I'd register while I was here. My name is Dave, born and raised in western NY, then moved to Blacksburg, VA a few years back for graduate school. I got my start smoking when I assumed responsibility for the senior pig roast for my engineering department in college. A professor from our department had previously been in charge of it, but he was leaving for another school, so after he left I took over. We would usually smoke around 140 pounds of pork shoulder. 

After I finished my degree there, I moved down to Virginia for graduate school. It wasn't until a friend of mine from back in NY also came down here for graduate school that I thought about getting my own smoker. After a few (maybe too many) beers one night, I decided that I was going to buy a smoker and we would make chicken that Sunday. Craigslist was limited, but I found a killer deal on a Bradley electric smoker. The chickens weren't even done in the Bradley before I was emailing someone else on Craigslist about an Ugly Drum Smoker.