new guy

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

pigeek

Original poster
Nov 11, 2013
Hey guys,

I'm Davis.  I'm from the Northeast Oklahoma, outside of the Tulsa area.

I'm new to the world of smoking.  Something I've always been interested in but didn't know where to start.  Over the 4th and a few other times this summer, I was successful in doing ribs on my gas grill (Weber Genesis 310) with a smoker box and people seemed to like them so getting a smoker was the next step.

I recently purchased an Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Smoker, I felt it was the highest quality one I could find without breaking the bank, or spending hundreds on shipping.  Basically I felt it was the less flimsy out of all the ones I looked at.  Just got it built and I've already got a coupld of tru-tels installed at grate level on each side.  Also have a dryer vent elbow installed to lower the smoke stack.  Working on a baffle right now and I've got a new charcoal grate ordered and I'll probably try to raise it some as well once it gets here.  So hopefully I'll be able to burn it out this weekend and practice controling temperatures.  

I know this is an introduction, but I've got a question for yall...there is still some sticky residue on the outside and inside around the doors where the packing materials were.  Is a product like GooGone a good way to get rid of it without hurting the paint?

-davis  

[h1]
texas.gif
Hello and welcome from East Texas. This is a great site, lots of information and great people that are willing to throw in their two cents worth on about anything   ......... 
[/h1][h1]  [/h1][h1]Gary[/h1]