New and Overwhelmed

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

realist

Original poster
Aug 11, 2011
hello from MN...

i've been doing a lot of looking around online the past few weeks and there's way too much information out there... i think it would be nicer to just be able to talk to a few people instead of just reading webpage after webpage...

i'm a novice... i have never ground meat, do very little grilling but love to cook... i'm looking to make my own brats, sausage and meat patties... things i'm looking to replicate are the grilled chicken patties you can get from trader joes, flavored brats i buy from the meat department in the grocery store(minus all the fat), chicken, spinach and asiago cheese brats you can get from sams club... i like the fact i know everything that's going into what i'm making... nothing artificial and lowest possible fat

i currently own a rival vacuum sealer model vs106 (picked up refurbished for $25) which i have already used to freeze chicken breasts with... i bought about 15 pounds of split breast for 89c a pound... cut the breast from the bone, took off the skin and fat... worked wonderfully... i am curious though if i can use this model with the rolls of plastic instead of the bags... if so, any recommendations on where to purchase cheap rolls from...

i recently bought a #8 LEM 575 watt meat grinder from fleet farm only because it was on sale for $88... i'm not going to use it yet until i know this is the one i should be using... the sale ends tomorrow so it was the only reason i got it now... my budget for a grinder is $100... give or take a few dollars... i'm also looking at the Kitchener #12 Electric Meat Grinder 1/2 HP from northern tool...