New Alaska Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jrowland

Original poster
Jul 17, 2014
Anchorage, aK
Greetings from Anchorage, Alaska.   I'm brand new to the world of smoking, so I'm running around the internet trying to figure things out - stumbled on this site, and decided to jump in.

I received a Sportsman Elite 30" electric smoker for my birthday a few weeks ago (probably as a hint that the wife is getting bored with just burgers on the grill all summer long).  

I'm still reading and looking, so I'm not sure I have any specific questions about actual cooking yet... but I do have a quick first question about smoker placement.  While I was looking over the instructions and some included recipes, I noticed the following:

1) only use outdoors

2) do not use within 10 feet of anything flammable

3) and don't use in the rain. 

hunh... if I actually follow all of those directions to the T, I guess I cannot use my smoker.  Their legal department must simply think that not using it at all is the best policy for not having any accidents.  With some of these recipes indicating a 12hr cook time, there sure is no way to predict a whole day when it isn't going to rain. And if it IS going to rain, I would want it under a roof of some kind to  protect the electronic doodads... but that defeats the "not within 10 feet of something flammable" precaution.