new 30" Master built Sportsman Elite leaking liquid around door

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

adrianw

Original poster
Dec 30, 2016
All,

I have a new 30" Master built Sportsman Elite leaking liquid around the lower door.  I have adjusted the lock to the point I am afraid it will break.  I also checked for level of the unit, but I am still getting the liquid seeping from around the lower door. It seems that the liquid is not falling from the door properly and into the drain pan.  Is there something I am doing wrong? is this just a nuisance of this type of unit?           V/r,  Adrian

If you are using water in the water pan, then try running it with the pan dry.

More than likely it's condensation forming on the door & running down to the bottom of the door and leaking out.

Al

​Al, Thanks for the reply.  I am running a pan of water.  The door has a built in sheet of metal aiming for the drip pan.  I am smoking ribs today and tightened the lock one more turn. Seems to be helping a little.  I may nee to readjust the sheet of metal for a better aim at the targeted drip pan. Its a new smoker, so I guess I may need some adjustments.

​Al, Thanks for the reply.  I am running a pan of water.  The door has a built in sheet of metal aiming for the drip pan.  I am smoking ribs today and tightened the lock one more turn. Seems to be helping a little.  I may nee to readjust the sheet of metal for a better aim at the targeted drip pan. Its a new smoker, so I guess I may need some adjustments.
Al could be right.

It could very well be coming from the condensation on the inside of the door.