Need Ideas Best Dish

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fletcher3440

Original poster
Sep 29, 2015
Good morning All

My work is having rib competition and best dish. My ribs I have down and I think I can win with them but best dish not sure what I plan to make. I want blow there socks off! Hoping you guys could give me some ideas or even killer recipe

That's a good one! I've never made jambalaya. Is that tough to make and at all possible do you have recipe you would be willing give out

Fletcher.

Here's a You Tube vid  to give you the basics,(it's 2 parts) It's pretty good and I pretty much use his recipe with a few of my own modifications. Jambalaya is best if made in a cast iron pot. I have a 4 gal cast iron jambalaya pot I got on Amazon a few years back but a cast dutch oven pot works just as well only smaller. I use a small boat paddle to do the stirring. LOL .It's really fun to make and everybody loves watching me make it.

When I do BBQ for friends and family, I set the jambalaya out while the meat is finishing up and everybody loads up on it while the Q is resting. Kinda like an appetizer. Doing this also helps me cut down on the amount of $$ meat $$ my free loading  family and  friends consume. LOL!!!!!

Let me know if you want me to post the recipe I normally use and some tips.

Last edited:
Not fancy, but it's hard to beat good old smoked Mac and cheese. Especially when it includes some tasty rib meat!

Mike if you would that would be great! I think I might go with the jambalaya. The smoked mac and cheese does sound good too

Mike if you would that would be great! I think I might go with the jambalaya. The smoked mac and cheese does sound good too