Need help choosing a smoker.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

yendik1

Original poster
Dec 9, 2013
r
Hello everyone. I am totally new to smokers, but my dad asked for one for Christmas this year. I was hoping some of you nice folks could lead me in the right direction for choosing one. Some of the things I know for sure is that he wants to be able to do a turkey so size is important, but I don't know how big is needed. My budget is a maximum of $200. I live in Ohio, so nearby I have Bass Pro Shops, Menards, Cabellas, Lowes, Home Depot, Meijers and a few others. Maybe even Gander Mountain. So I need to know between propane or electric which cooks hotter, which is easier to tend to and anything else you think I should take into consideration. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Last year he got a pair of long johns and 2 flannel shirts from me, so anything anyone can add so I can do better this year would be great. Thanks very much!!!

Honestly you are almost better off saving your money or trying to get someone else to chip in with you.  Any of those smokers from big box stores are less then par.  For $200.00 though you could do a pretty nifty UDS (Ugly drum smoker)  Not really ugly, just a name.  It could be even more touching for your father that you built him a smoker ;)