Need advice and encouragement for July 3 smoke for 100+

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fatback

Fire Starter
Original poster
May 16, 2008
Atlanta, Georgia
Alright folks... I have some experience, and I am familiar with the basics. I have cooked for 25-30 a couple of times, but I have never tried anything on this scale. My July 3 crowd will be at least 100 -- maybe as many as 200. I will have more certainty about headcount later. My biggest questions are regarding meat quantities and cooking time. Pulled pork is the choice. These here internets are all over the place when it comes to meat lbs. per person. I have read "12 people per butt", "1/3 lb. per person", "3/4 lb. per person". That's a huge range when considering such a high head count!!! Regarding cuts of meat, I will probably buy whatever Costco has the day I go shopping. Last year, it was a bonless shoulder, split into two pieces, about 14 lbs total if I recall. At that size, I don't know if it was the picnic or the butt or both.
The cooking time really has me baffled. I know the rule of thumb of 1-1.5 hours per pound...but 100 lbs of meat doesn't equate to 100+ hours of cooking. Should it be 1-1.5 hours times my largest roast? Plus some extra for having the smoker loaded to capacity?

Any other thoughts? Things I should consider? Do you sense my anxiety?
icon_eek.gif

I have absolutely no experience, but I'll add my 2 cents:

1. Make sure you got a lot of sides. That's what those all you can eat buffets do. Fill em up on the sides, just in case there's not enough Q.