Need a little help smoking ribs

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

silv50

Original poster
Sep 20, 2010
I am fairly new at smoking, and I have taught myself.  I can do a pork butt and a brisket just fine, but ribs give me issues and would like a little insight.  Most of the time when I smoke ribs they come out almost like tender jerky.  In my eyes, ribs should have that nice black coating on the outside but mine usually don't.  I did get great results once, but I was never able to duplicate it.  I have tried them the full time in smoke and other times I have wrapped them in tin foil for the last part of the smoke. 

If anyone can help me get the perfect ribs every time, that would be great.  Thanks in advance for your help.

While I spritzed mine for the first time last night, I won't do it again because it made the bark kind of soggy.  I, too, want my ribs to be black, and the following procedure has worked very well for me:

1) The night before, put a coat of molasses on them and plenty of rub.  I use this Memphis style rub but cut the cayenne in half: http://southernfood.about.com/od/bbqsaucemarinade/r/bl30418a.htm

2) Next day while the smoker is heating up, take them out of the fridge and apply a generous coat of brown sugar.  Just sprinkle it on and let it sit there until it has melted.

3) Sprinkle on another coat of rub.

4) Smoke them at 225* (220-240*) for 5 hours for baby backs or 6 hours for spares.  Have a water tray in there but don't open the door and don't foil or spritz.  I use Hickory, Apple, or Pecan.

They'll turn out with an awesome black bark.  They won't be "fall-off-the-bone" tender, but they won't be dry, either.