Naked Chicken

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

1chaos52

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Oct 3, 2007
Was having friends over the other night that I had not seen in a while and decided to cook a chicken for them.

Due to some recent health concerns for my girl and myself, I decided to go the route that I have been doing successfully with drumsticks for several months now. This chicken was going skinless.

I picked up a minimally processed chicken and proceeded to skin it as much as possible. The only part I could not get off was a small part on the wings. I then brined the chicken in a gallon of water, sugar, molasses, rosemary, thyme, and white wine. I brined the chicken for about 24 hours.
Due to my concerns with the chicken drying out since it had no skin, I also injected some of the brine.

I was missing an ingredient to make Jeff's Rub, so I used a store bought rub that I had handy and have used several times on chicken with great success. It was Roasted Garlic Peppercorn Char-Crust. Before applying the rub, I painted the chicken with a mayo/horseradish sauce.

Still concerned with moisture, I also stuck a beer can up the chickens butt. Figured it couldn't hurt.

Smoked the chicken at around 250. Chicken has usually only taken about 3.5 hours when I have done it before, but this one seemed to plateau at about 160 for quite a while. It took about 5.5 hours to reach 170 which is when I took it off the smoker. I smoked it using hickory and cherry.