My First Post! How to Maintain Temperature??

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

boulder buff

Original poster
Jan 4, 2011
Hi all,

This is my first post and I am really excited to start smoking some meats!

I recently purchased the Brinkmann Professional Smoker and have done all the necesarry preparations to start smoking food (i.e., curing the smoker, purchased wood, lump coal, temperature gauge etc...).

I am going to be smoking my first brisket next weekend ( I think I found a nice recipe in "Backyard BBQ, The Art of Smokology").

The main question I have being that this is my first time smoking something is how do you maintain that temperature of 200-225 with lump coal without having to constantly check the smoker??

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I am looking forward to someday contributing to this website with recipes and pictures of the meats!

i would do a few smokes with a lower time frame to help "learn" what your smoker is like. there are a few peeps on here that could probably give you some helpful tips on your style smoker.  good luck and have fun!