Mods

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bbqsmoke

Original poster
Jun 16, 2010
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to smoking but have had great success with what I've done so far thanks to all the tips I've picked up here. I'm using my first smoker, a Char-Grill pro smoker. While I think it's a good one, it does seem to need constant tending. What I'd really like is some input from other owners of this same smoker regarding mods to the unit that helped to stabilize temps, etc..I looked around here but couldn't find any specifically for this smoker. Thanks to everyone. I love this site!

Bbqsmoke

Under the forums link go to smoking supplies & equiptment, then click on charcoal smoakers. Do a search for Char-griller or Char-broil mods. You will find pages and pages of mods. The four most important mods for most of the under $200 offset smokers are:

1) two new thermometers one on the left side, one on the right side located just above grate level. Factory therms are usually off by 25-75°!

2) some sort of charcoal basket to get the fire up off of the bottom of the fire box and allow the use of the minion method of charcoal burning.

3) some sort of tuning plate / baffle to even out the temps from the fire box side to the non-fire box side.

4) extending the smoke stack down to grate level.

For step 1: Home Depot or Lowes sell some 2" dial therms in the BBQ section that you mount by drilling a 3/8 D. hole where you want the therm. Insert the therm from the outside and secure with a nut from the inside. Cost about $7 each.

For step 2: Lowes Shaker Baskets can be used to make a very easy charcoal basket that work great (see link)

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forum/thread/85443/cgsp-charbroil-charcoal-basket-mod