MES PUFFing ?????

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rvrivalkc

Original poster
Feb 10, 2008
OK

I'm a newbie with the MES(w window) from Sams.

This is third time to use unit. Did some chicken legs/thighs and some meatballs. All turned out great.

BUT when I put wood chips in ( 1 cup at a time) each hour.
The chips would start to smoke, then smoker would fill up with smoke,

THEN there would be a PUFF -blowout the wood chip adder, bottom of door. Seems like maybe gases produced from chips ignited.

This would happen 2-3 times per load of wood chips.

Is this common? Am I doing something wrong?

Is there danger if I were to open door?

Thanks

No this is not common.

Are you using the water pan with water?

Is the Vent open all the way?

Sounds like not enough air is either not getting in or out.

Yes opening the door could be dangerous.

Keep us informed, I am curious as I have that unit and have no problems.

Hi RvRivalKC,