MES 30" - First impressions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

toejam

Fire Starter
Original poster
Dec 2, 2014
OK, got my new MES 30" yesterday and did my first cook last night. Here's my observations (realize I'm a newbie, so, most of this is operator error):

- Make sure the wood tray is fully inserted before dumping wood into it. Otherwise, the wood falls on the heating element and leaves an ash pile in your drip tray.
- I cooked ribs via the 3-2-1 method for my first sacrifice. They turned out a tad bit dry. This may be because I didn't put water in the tray for the first 3 hours. My bad! But, they were practically fall-off-the-bone good anyway. Not much of a smoky flavor (more on that later). The cat and dog could smell the meat all morning long and would not get out from under my feet. I have a picture, but, don't see an option for uploading it to this thread, yet.
- The MES thermometer doesn't quite match what my Maverick thermometer reads. Don't know which one is off.
- I'm a tad bit uncomfortable with the wood burning setup. Firstly, the wood doesn't burn unless the heating element is on to get the wood to ignition/smoldering temperature. The heating element isn't on unless the temperature needs adjusting. The MES is insulated, so, the heating element doesn't need to be on all the time. Hence the wood isn't burning all the time. Secondly, my wood chips were probably on the chunkier side, so, couldn't get but 3 pieces in at a time and couldn't pull the loader out because the chips would drop and stick up just enough to prevent you from pulling out the wood loader.