Meatloaf

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

redrocker65200

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
South San Francisco, ca
Greetings to all, 

I am new to all this, but have a couple of chicken smokes under my belt.  My next attempt is going to be meatloaf, wife's request.  I have found a nice recipe here that includes Mac and Cheese, so that is my base.  I have a couple of questions for the group.

Let me premise this with I have a Smoke Vault propane smoker and am planning on using either Pecan or Hickory.  

1.  Let's say that they are 2 2 lb loafs, cooking at 225 or so, what is the approx cook time?  I know it is impossible to tell and it is done when it is done, but an estimate would be great.  

2.  My thought is to put them in small aluminum loaf pans and poke some holes in the bottom for the juice to run out, but if anybody has a better idea, please feel free.

I am sure I will have more questions, but that is all for now.  

Thanks in advance for any advice.  

D

Hey D, my loaves are around 2#, and I cook them at 225* for 4 hours.  I like mine on the medium-well side of done.  Your idea of holes in a foil pan sounds good.  Meatloaf is one of my faves, so good luck and good smokin'.

Hey D, my loaves are around 2#, and I cook them at 225* for 4 hours.  I like mine on the medium-well side of done.  Your idea of holes in a foil pan sounds good.  Meatloaf is one of my faves, so good luck and good smokin'.
Thanks for the info.   One more question, what wood do you use?  I have Hickory and Apple at home, but if Pecan or Cherry is better I will go looking for it.  My concern is that Hickory may be a bit strong.  

D