Masterbuilt Gravity 1050 Charcoal Consumption

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BiscuitoftheSea

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 10, 2019
I'm new to charcoal grills. I've been 100% propane until I wanted to start smoking and then bought a cheap masterbuilt electric with Amazing pellet deal. Then moved on to a ReqTec Rt-700 before moving away from pellets to get more flavor.

Enter the Masterbuilt 1050. So far I've done the following:
1 hour burn in at 250 degrees
30 min burn in at 400 degrees
30 min seasoning at 350 degrees
20 min steak cook at 550 degrees
30 min seasoning at 350 degrees
1 hour chicken cook between 275 and 450 degrees

So total of about 4 hours at maybe 350 degrees average and I've almost burned through an entire 18lbs bag of Kingsford competition briquettes. I'd say I have 4 lbs left. So 14lbs in 4 hours is 3.5 lbs per hour.

Does that sound right? That is going to get very expensive at between $0.50 and $0.80 a lbs for briquettes.

For comparison, my Weber propane says it averages 1lbs an hour at $1/lbs of propane and my old pellet grill would go at maybe 1 or 1.5lbs per hour at $0.40/lbs.

Looks like this might be 2-3x the price of other fuels.

If you want more flavor then it is probably worth it. There is a very long MB Gravity thread on this sight. I'm sure there is a discussion on fuel burn time.

I average better consumption with lump.
Never checked actual times but plan to asap. But yes you must feed the beast....but very rewarding in regards to flavor and ease of operation

Reactions: MJB05615
If you want more flavor then it is probably worth it. There is a very long MB Gravity thread on this sight. I'm sure there is a discussion on fuel burn time.