Master Builders Wanted!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

livinnlearnin

Original poster
Oct 4, 2013
So... I've been been trying to figure out just what I want to do for my first meat smoker. I was leaning towards a small smokehouse type, but then the fridge one's intrigued me too. I just got back from a local auction house and found THREE old fridges that are lined with metal. The boss man was not there to inquire on the price for each, but I intend to go back and see. If the price is good, I'm getting one. (and if the first project goes smooth I just might buy a second) (Ok, so I WILL buy a second and you'll soon understand why)

So let me give you the ho-down - I'm a newbie to this: curing, smoking, building. But I'd like to think I've got enough savvy and am a good learner. Some 15 years ago I had some kind of small standing barrell-like smoker (don't ask what make) and did some things in it, but was not able to really delve into it - What I'm proposing is a group build. Anyone who's interested in the project and wants their fingers in it to claim fame to the finished deal, give me input. Tell me what to do. I'm buying the fridge and doing all of the work. I just need the knowledge from seasoned smoking warriors!