Making rookie mistakes

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

newbienick

Fire Starter
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Aug 4, 2015
NW Ohio
I am relatively new to smoking and have just moved from a propane grill with chip box to a el cheapo offset smoker.  Yes...there is the first problem.  Had I done more research, I probably would have saved my pennies for something better!  Anyhow...

I have smoked in my new setup twice now, and both times, my meat tastes like campfire.  The smokey taste is just overwhelming!

Let me give you a few details.

Smoke #1:
Turkey breast and western style pork ribs

Lump charcoal for heat source started in charcoal chimney 
Hickory and plum sticks/chunks at about 50/50
Temp at around 200-220 as measured mid-cook surface with ThermoWorks DOT

Smoke #2:
Whole chicken and london broil with a decent amount of fat on top

Lump charcoal for heat source started in charcoal chimney 
100% hickory
Temp at around 200-220

Both times, I tried to make sure that I was getting blue smoke, and I would add more wood to the fire box every time the smoke went away.

Things that I've learned so far:

1) My smoker needs some mods to retain heat and disperse more evenly.

2) The cut of meat is critical.  The London broil wasn't very good.  :(

Questions that I have:
1) Do you continue to add wood every time you see the smoke go away or do you only smoke for a small period of the total cook time?
2) The smoke taste was worse on #2 above.  Is 100% hickory too much?

Feel free to comment on my rookie mistakes.  I could use the help!

Thank you
Nick