LUMP VS. BRIQUETTES

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dawgdrvr

Original poster
Jan 1, 2008
Rochester, WA 98579
Ok, so its an age old debate 'Lump or Briquettes'. Sense I am new to smoking,And very new to smoking on my 'Bandera' I am needing some input on what would be better for long and slow cooks. My options are Trader Joe's (Rancher) Briquettes. I can get an 18.lb for $6.50 or a 40.lb bag of Lazzari restaurant grade lump for $12.00 .At Cash & Carry.  

The only lump that I have tried, was a generic bag of Mesquite ,Imported from Mexico. It had no other markings on the bag other than 'Hardwood Mesquite lump Charcoal'. When i used it, It popped and spit sparks for 3 hours.I have used 'Stubbs' briquettes but my local Lowes jacked up the price after labor day and i don't feel like paying $9.00 for a 10lb bag  

any info or input would help.

thanx guy'z  

Cody

I think I tried that same generic Mexican hardwood mesquite, and although it does pop and spark, I really like it.  It's a huge improvement over briquttes, in my opinion, because you get consistent temperatures for much longer times than with briquettes.  I think you save money with the hardwood lump because it costs less and since it burns longer, you use less.

On long smokes, I'd think you'd want to minimize the number of times you have to open the firebox to add fuel. 

Smart and Final had a different brand of lump charcoal for about $9.99 last week, I haven't tried it yet, but it also comes in a big 40 pound bag.

Alright Im still new but I have only used  lump, you get alot of good flavor out of lump and if you knew everything that they pack into those briquettes you wouldnt use them.