Lowes BBQ Grillware Gas Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

grandmaster

Original poster
Mar 30, 2006
Austin, TX
I am a newb to smoking, and looking to purchase my first Smoker. I have been reading the posts, and today I went out and did some window shopping. I was wondering if any of you have seen the BBQ Grillware smoker over at lowes and what your thoughts of it were?

To me, after having read numerous posts and trying to become as much of an expert as I can on the subject, this smoker seems very promising. It is 22.83"X18.30"X46.85" and weighs in at 75.55#'s, according to the manual that I thumbed through. It is not square though, the front and back sides are convex and the sides are straight. It has stainless hooks at the top for hanging, four stainless racks, a stainless water pan that is about as big around as the smoker, the wood box is about as wide as the smoker and about 2" deep, and it has a cast brass burner. The only thing that was misleading is Lowes has it labeled as a 20,000BTU burner, but the box as well as the manual stated 15,000BTU. Price is $169. I have looked at the 2 Wal-Mart GOSM's for $98 an $128, and the Camp Chef 18" smoke vault at a store locally that had it on sale for $199. I have not been able to find the heavier duty GOSM to compare to. But so far the BBQ Grillware seems to be the better smoker.

If any of you have taken a look at it what do you think? Is a 15,000btu burner enough for a smoker? Of all the smokers I have looked at so far, this one seems to have the thickest gauge of steel so it would seem the best to keep the heat.

I look forward to your thoughts and comments!

Thanks!
Louis