Looking to buy a propane smoker.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

greyfox612

Original poster
Aug 25, 2014
Brockway, PA
Hi folks,

I'm looking to buy a propane smoker, but the reviews, etc. have my head swimming. This is the one I'm leaning toward, mainly because of the drawers for wood and water and the brass burner which should last a long time.   
Anyways, I'm looking for pros and cons on it, recommendations on others, anything you folks can tell me to help me not make a mistake. I've been learning the hard way for 64 years. I'd like to just once, buy something I'm happy with from the get go. And I understand, anything I buy will need tweaking. But that's part of the fun.

Any and all advice you can give me will be greatly appreciate. Thank you so much, in advance. 

The old grey fox in PA,

Jerry

th_dunno-1%5B1%5D.gif
 Of all of my smokers I don't have any experience with a propane smoker. I agree it would be nice to get it right the first time. I hate buyers remorse. Someone will be along soon with experience with a propane smoker. 

Happy smoken.

David

I have a smoke hollow from Gander. It's great for ribs butts and brisket, but too hot for salmon, jerky and sausage. It doesn't get below 200. I've been thinking about adding a few more vents, but you may not be willing to mess around with that on a new unit.

The Landmann looks like it's better built than the Smoke Hollow, so it should do fine.

I've had mine for about 10 years and had to replace the burner about a year ago (cast brass).

Good luck and happy smokin!

Couldn't you put a small charcoal fire in an iron skillet and turn off the propane to try to keep the temp.lower? Mix in some wood chunks.