Looking for a new Smoker. Advice on this one?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

justinkp

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 5, 2013
Western Pennsylvania
Hi.   I've been smoking for about 4 years and my first smoker finally quit.   Not on it's own, we had a bad storm and the wind was so strong it actually picked up the smoker and threw it across my deck and everything inside is destroyed along with a nice dent in the smoker itself.    It was time for a new one anyhow!  

I was looking at the following smoker.  30 inch electric which matches the one I used to have.  This one has a window and remote control though which is really helpful to me.      I'd like to go no more than $300 on my budget.     I usually cook brisket, ribs, pulled pork, and sausages.   The only thing I think I'd need to buy in addition to the smoker below would be the sausage hooks to hang the sausage on.  I use cherry and hickory wood for my beef  and pork, and apple for chicken currently.  

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Masterbu...-Window-and-Remote-Control-20070411/202461863

Any suggestions on something that would be a better option for me or even less expensive?   Thanks

I think you can get a first gen. 30 for like 150 bucks I saw somewhere.  That would leave you some cash for accessories. Or a bunch of meat. The window is not really needed and you could save some money without that. There are about half a million mes owners on this website. The search bar at the top of the page is your friend here.

Last edited:
If your not set on a window, there's this MES gen 1 for $177. I have this one & it works fine, just get a separate therm for temps as the temp in this is way off from what the stock therm says !