Kosher Sausage Fabrication

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

dragonslayer

Fire Starter
Original poster
Oct 5, 2006
Ok, I am pretty new to smoking. Did my first brisket about a week ago and fell in love. Now I have always wanted to make my own sausage, and figured why not try making my own smoked sausage. Here is the problem I am Jewish and need to make it stricktly kosher. This presents 2 major problems.

1 finding kosher casing. Basically any casing made from animal product would present a problem

2 Finding a recipie that does not include Pork. I know pork fat is a favorite in sausage making. Beef would be the easist to use, followed by veal, lamb, then bison. Kosher Venison is also possible to get but much harder to come by and more expensive. Poultry is also readily available but at this point I would rather use something that walks on four legs.

Any and all advise is appreciated

use lamb or sheep casings---
availible at most sausage making suppliers on the web.
im assuming they are kosher

my favorites suppliers are www.alliedkenco.com
and www.sausagemaker.com

on this forum
i have posted a romanian jewish beef sausage recipe.
its good stuff.

i dont recommend things unless i have tried it.

i got this from stuffers.com and tweeked a little.

i am a wasp.
so its not kosher --but you can see what isnt.
i have some fun making my own sausage.
its so easy--its so good.

i am working on a all beef smoked sausage.
for the first time-
i used same spices as pork smoked sausage.
its more than edible-but still a work in progress

im glad to meet you!