kind of just starting -have smoked a couple of times but need some assistance PLEASE

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nncross

Original poster
Jul 23, 2008
Okay here goes. I'm kind of new at this smoking. I have smoked a couple of time and I love it!!! I'm from Livonia, NY. I'm a female, 50 and enjoy eating food cooked or smoked on the grill. I have a small off brand smoker now which is okay but I wanted something a little bigger so my son just bought me a brinkmann 40 snp (cheap enough for what he could afford). I've been reading some of the threads and see that there are some modifications that need to be done to this smoker. I have noticed that the firebox does have gaps between the top and the bottom from when you put the thing together. The temp gauge stinks.
PDT_Armataz_01_27.gif
And I've read something about the heat not distributing right so you need to add some kind of baffle. Can anyone help me here? I'd like to make the modifications but need some pics to know exactly what I am doing. I probably could wing it but why not get the low down from the experts if they would be willing to help.
smile.gif
Anything you can tell me would be muchly appreciated. Thanks

They will help here alot. I went to youtube and typed in pork shoulder and it showed some people grilling and smoking with some add ons to basic grills you might wanna try that also

It is also a tradition here to go through roll call and introduce youself and the type of smoker you use to help everyone understand what you are useing to better help you with your problems. I know you already explained it all and we are easy to get along with. Plus it does help to learn to navigate through this forum using some of the options available.