Just saying Hey!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

trkyhntr

Original poster
Oct 22, 2006
Northeast Ohio
Greetings from Ohio. I'm a definite rookie with a few years of much interest but little success. My first experience with smoking was using the ECB and never had much luck with it. In the early 80's, did a fair amount of cold smoking salmon in Alaska using a smoker made of wood lath and visqueen. Great results and lived to tell about it! After reading the forum and researching for about 2 months I've "jumped" into it. Bought a GOSM Big Block and am anxious to give it a try soon. Any suggestions for a fairly simple starter meat? Looking forward to learn alot from the forum.

Welcome trkyhntr,

Glad you are here. I have the small GOSM and love it. Please consider the 5-day ecourse on smoking basics. If you have questions, ask away. The friendly folks here at SMF will be glad to make answer.

As an answer to your question about a simple starter meat, I would suggest a pork butt (sometimes called "Boston Butt" or pork shoulder). I get mine at Sam's Club. They usually come two in a cryovac bag and can weigh anywhere from 5 to 8 lbs each. They are very forgiving, although they do take a bit of time to get them to where they pull easily. Please browse through the pork forum for more info.

Also, we love pics if you can post them. (food p0rn)

Here is a link to my last pic post of butts.

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=2224

Take care, have fun, and do good!

Regards,

Meowey

Welcome to SMF trkyhntr!!!