Just Rubbed Shoulder... To Start Now or Early in the Morning? That is the question.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ostrichsak

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 4, 2013
I'm relatively new to smoking and last time I did a pork shoulder was the first time smoking (brand new MES 30) and it turned out amazing.  I rubbed it down with yellow mustard plus a dry rub (store bought) and then threw it in the fridge overnight.  Based on what I was reading online (1.5hrs per lb) I didn't get it on until about 11:00am being as it was barely a 4lb shoulder.  I figured this would leave me plenty of time before dinner since we had company.  Well, this was a mistake and we ended up buying BBQ to go with all of our sides at a local place.  Grrrr  Once the pork was done it was incredible and I was VERY pleased with my first smoke.  My 2nd was last week and was a brisket.  Not too happy with the results (even though wife and mother said they liked it) but that's another topic.