Jim's Bacon Making Process For Walking Dude. Pt 1

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

navionjim

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
OTBS Member
Apr 16, 2007
Houston Texas
Jim’s Bacon Making Process, For The Walking Dude Part .1

The Walkin Dude asked me for my step by step procedure for homemade bacon, and seeing as how there are so many posts on bacon right now I thought I might just put this out for general consumption. I like this product and have tried to make this as simple to follow as possible, but even at that of course, your mileage may vary.

Beware, as an engineer I tend to be a perfectionist so I can easily complicate simple processes in general. You could probably abbreviate my methods and be just fine, but this is just how I do it and it’s not a particularly common method either. I have stolen bits from several processes I either found on the web, or from Charcuterie or the books by Rytec Kutas, including those methods used for making “Box Cured Bacon”, “Prosciutto Ham”, “Italian Style Ham”, “Schinkenspeck”, and I’ve added some tricks I’ve personally perfected for making beef jerky. I hope you at least enjoy reading about this even if you never try it yourself.

Meat:

This process can be used for either belly or butt bacon, aka Buckboard Bacon. I was using “Country Style Ribs” AKA sliced Boston butt when I worked this out, but it works well with belly meat if you can find it. I have also used this with wild boar meat with good results.