IT'S ALL IN THE TIMING...(PUN INTENDED)

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokin stu

Original poster
Mar 10, 2014
Ok fellow smokers,

Don't freak out or jump out a 10-story building when I ask this question.  I am fairly new to the smoking arena but have had good early success; (2) briskets, (2) pork butts, (1) turkey, (1) St. Louis rack but as I have discovered (as we all have), timing is one of the most crucial elements of smoking.  I've started nice and early on my briskets and butts but did have one of the "good old" started to late finished at midnight smokes before...not fun.  

Anyways to my point, I am in that bind where I committed to smoking some meat for a buddy's birthday lunch tomorrow (Saturday) but have to work most the day today (Friday), and am going to be short on time no matter what I do.  I am planning on doing a pork butt for 20 people and I don't have time to do all the smoking tomorrow, for we are leaving at 10am to travel to their house which is an hour and half away.  So my thought was to start the smoking in my smoker as soon as I can get home and get everything set up, probably around 5-6pm and then pull it and finish cooking it in (unfortunately) the oven or perhaps (whisper voice)...the crock pot.

Ok, I got that out, so now my question...have any of you faced this dilemma and did you have success doing what I described and is one device better than the other to finish it?  I am thinking about leaning towards crock pot only cause I'm thinking of leaving it on low overnight and would prefer that over heating up the whole house with the oven.  Also, it should be noted that my smoker is a wood chip/propane style which can't be programmed or set to run unattended all night.