It Welds!!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.
So I went against all the recommendations and went a head and bought the 90amp Chicago flux core welder from H.F.  Here are some of the reasons that I decided to buy it. Number one was the price. It was during a 3 day sale, and I waited until the last day and paid $69.99. The second reason is that I needed a machine that would work on 110. I only had space in the panel for one more breaker to run a dedicated 20amp plug. Yes I would have preferred a 220 machine, but there's no room! Third I have zero welding experience, and I didn't want to spend a fortune on something I didn't know I would use all the time. So far I have welded a few items and I can say that I am happy with the welder and feel that for now it will do everything that I need it to do. I am using the stock tip and the wire that came with it. I did buy some Lincoln replacement tips and wire (as recommended by the Youtube welding gurus.) I will use the wire that came with it until it is gone. Even though it said it wouldn't work, I did weld some supports to my stainless grill for the UDS! Yesterday I welded up another charcoal basket for Mini-WSM #2. I have a lot to learn, but the pieces are stuck together! I found on the expended metal I was burning through. I turned the amp down to the min setting and that took care of that!

Here's a few shots of my crappy but working welds

Very cool! I am hoping to start welding this fall/winter when things quiet down a bit......