Info for the Winfo!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Which smoker to choose? Best for holding consistent temps

• Weber Smokey Mountain 22 in.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Akorn Kamado Kooker

• Brinkmann Limited Offset Stick Burner

• Brinkmann 57 in. Vertical Smoker

• Total voters
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

twobeanbbq

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jul 14, 2013
New Orleans, La.
So, I'm an amateur bbqer, I would like to step my game up to competition level. I've been using inferior rigs, but have been able to put out respectable, well cooked BBQ. I have a chance for a bit of an upgrade, but my budget is around $400. I've narrowed it down to 4 and would love some input on other options or about the ones I've found, or you can simply just click on the poll and run right through this thread lol

Smoker options: Weber Smokey Mountain 22 in., Char Griller Akorn Kamado Kooker, Brinkmann TrailMaster limited offset smoker, Brinkmann TrailMaster 57 in. Vertical Smoker

As always I appreciate any and all info! Keep on Smokin on :grilling_smilie: :sausage:

Well, I'm a biased voter, because I've only had my WSM. Got a pork butt on it right now (started 45 minutes ago). If you end up getting one, search on this site for WSM mods.

JIRodriguez provided me with a lot of help! (Johnny: if you're out there, I just got the welding blanket while it was on sale a month ago. Got the clips, too. I'm now ready for the winter!)

Here's the link for Johnny's temp probe holes (I recommend the Maverick  ET 732):

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/94076/wsm-mods

I bought some gasket material, also. Here's a link with my pictures:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t/138825/first-smoke-in-my-new-wsm#post_960590