I will get it right someday

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

az_redneck

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
OTBS Member
Sep 8, 2006
Casa Grande, AZ
OK..I'm new to smoking and I'm trying out different rubs and cooking techniques. Yesterday, for the Superbowl, I applewood smoked 2 racks of babybacks, 2 fatty's and some homemade polish sausage I made with Butcher & Packers fresh polish sausage seasoning. I used my GOSM gas smoker. Water in the pan and held temp at about 230'.

The results:

Fattys - 1 hot and 1 regular Jimmy Dean sausage rolls. I smoked for 3 hours. Flipped after 90 min. Got a good smoke ring on both rolls. Regular tasted like ground beef. Hot wasn't much better, but had more flavor. Not impressed (I'm putting on my flame suit now..lol)

Polish Sausage - Fantastic! A bit salty from the nitrites, but beat the store bought ones anyday. Nice crunchy skin from natural casings.

Babybacks - Used the rib rub recipe Jeff mentions in the free rub recipe section. I used Kosher salt rather than table salt. I didn't spray them while smoking and I think that's why they came off a bit dry (4 hours @ about 230') and VERY salty. I followed the recipe for the rub to a tee except for the kind of salt, but the recipe isn't specific either. I put a store bought sauce on top to try to kill the salt and it helped a bit, but not much. Next time I will spray with apple juice to lessen the salt flavor or add some brown sugar to the rub. They had GREAT color and a nice smoke ring though.

All in all it wasn't a total loss. Wife made some homemade macaroni salad and guacamole that was really good.. :lol: