I wanna pop my cherry

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

redrocker65200

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Oct 15, 2015
South San Francisco, ca
OK, so I got a propane smoker for Xmas.  I am going to try and "season" it next week when I have a few days off and have had a chance to read the Ecourse from Jeff.  My question is really very simple, for a total newbie, what is a good place to start out with minimal amount of failure?  Tri tip?  Ribs?  Chicken?  I am not a cook, nor am I even a decent BBQ guy.  LOL, but I want to get started and looking for suggestions.  

Thanks all, any info is good info. 

Dino AKA RedRocker65200

When ya get the chance to try your new smoker, if your just starting out... I'd go with some chicken, whole or some thighs/drums.... A pork butt is not a bad way to go either for pulled pork & a butt is pretty forgiving if ya get a few temp swings... If ya have a bit of extra grate space, I'd toss on some ABT's too for an appetizer.... They are awesome !

If ya don't have one yet, make sure to get an accurate thermometer as well, like a Maverik ET-732 or something similar to that... Most stock therms on smokers are well known for being off, some are way off !

Let us know if we can be of any more help or if ya have questions along the way, just ask !

Also, if ya can tell us the exact smoker ya have, that would be helpful too... I don't have a propane smoker myself but a lot of folks on here do & if they know which one you have, it will help them help you that much more...