Howdy from the wilds of South Arkansas

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rowane

Original poster
Jun 21, 2007
Just call me Rowane, been known by that since I was 5 (a contraction of Roy and Wayne all good southern guys need both names) I'm a classically trained chef who is bored with retirement and beginning smoker. I got my training at the Cordon Bleu Institute of Chicago in the early eighties after leaving the Army.

As a retired man, living on my savings, I have decided to start with the ECB to save money and maximize my leisure. I'll be using a few of my favorite tools from my professional days to make things easier. I have always thought that the best way to keep your mind young is to keep learning new things.

With all of this in mind, I'm ready to roll up my sleeves, fire up the smoker and learn a few new techniques and recipes.

Rowane,
You sure came to the right place. Lots of talented folks here to get you off to a good start. The ECB is a good choice for starting out on, not to expensive and it can produce some good 'que. I started with the ECB that has since been kidnapped/adopted by my oldest daughter.

Read through the pages and check out all the recipes and pix's of what our members have shared. It will spark the imagination for sure.

Enjoy!

Welcome to SMF! You are in the right place to learn and hopefully with your background, you will be teaching as well!
PDT_Armataz_01_37.gif

Welcome to SMF Rowane!!! Sounds like you are going to fit in great around here with your background. Can't wait to swap some tips and secrets.