how to get the best bark?????? on a pork shoulder!!!!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigharve

Original poster
Jun 1, 2009
Ankeny, IA
I need some advice on getting a really good bark on a shoulder. My butts turn out great but I am still new to this and cant get that deep black bark at the end. HELP!!!!

Well first off, welcome to the site bigharve.

Would help to know what kind of smoker you have and what you have tried in the way of smoking butts.
Slathering with mustard and a good rub, spritzing during the process.
Sugars, especially brown sugar, breakdown/burn quicker which creates a bark but with a butt you need to be careful.
I'm sure you'll be smoking some greatness in no time, any info you can add will help us help you achieve the smoke you are looking for.

rub ingredients and adhesion are the two biggest things i can think of, along with the adhesion if your spritzing are you washing off the carmelizing materials in the rub by over spritzing???

Well, adhesion is a good thing
icon_arrow.gif
in addition one should keep his lid SHUT
cool.gif

I do a lot of PP as the in-laws go through it like sauce through a Goose.
Once I have the smoker to 220*F, I place the Butt(s) on to smoke and don't open the lid till my estimated time to cook is about an hour from done(1.5hrs./lb.). I feel that opening the lid delays the coking and allows the bark to cool just a little and get soft.I could be wrong, but it does make for a really nice Bark, with a SNAP
tongue.gif
!

The interior is always juicy and tender(falls apart as I am removing it from the smoker)and the bone just falls out.
biggrin.gif
My matra is STP-Smoke,Temperature and Patience. Get bored waiting?Drink more liquid
redface.gif