How do I keep the fire going?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

rob sicc

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
May 5, 2008
new jersey
Hi All,

I have been smoking for a few years. Everything I do is quick. I know that doesn't make sense in the smoking world but I mostly smoke Jerky and it only needs to be there a short time to get the flavor.

I watch a lot of cooking shows and you tube videos about smoking and the one thing I learned is that you don't want actual flames in the firebox. You want glowing coals. That is correct right? I see people build a fire and then when the flames are gone and there are just ambers glowing they start to smoke. So if you get the wood and charcoal ambers glowing in the fire box, how do you keep adding to the firebox if you have say going to need to 8 hours? I'm sure the inital fire will go out and if I add wood or coals during the smoke the wood will flare up and raise the temp as well.

As always, all help and comments are appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

I will typically have a fire going in another area where I burn the wood down to good coals and then use my little spade to move them to the firebox of my smoker. Nothing but coals go into the cooker.

Reactions: rob sicc
Rob.. this depends on what kind of smoker your using... The big "stick burners" (with side fire box) do have to have a fire (flame).. Using the intake air vents will control how big the fire gets which in turn controls the heat ... The charcoal/wood chunk methods would be for the smaller smokers ...

IMG_6457.JPG
The flames going when I cook. If not u will get thick white smoke. Everything Is wide open on my smoker and I adjust temps with how big I make the fire

Reactions: rob sicc
Hi All,