Hi from Nashville

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nashdrifter

Original poster
Oct 17, 2009
Wanted to say howdy to you all here at Smoking-Meat I have been charcoaling and smoking for many years but just recently got into it a little deeper. I ran across this site and have been really enjoying all the great info from you all. BTW I ordered Jeffs RUB and Sauce recipe. I have top say the ribs I smoked with his RUB turned out mighty tasty indeed.
I am using a old horizonal smoker I have had for many years,just lately I gave the old gal a new firebox grate,firebox damper,heat tuning plates,smoke stack extention,a few new wheels and a fresh coat of Hi Temp Paint. I am currently using a Maverick dual probe thermometer for my smoker temps and a Taylor digital for the meat. I have a couple of new themometers ordered for the smoker tho. I drilled 3 holes in the lid,placed rubber stoppers and drilled small holes into the stoppers so I can slide the probes into them and change them out for calibration and different placement often without any hassle.
Today I am smoking two Turkey breasts. I plan on cooking them around 240 until 170 internal temp. I used a little of Jeffs rub on them and injected them with a little sauce...(2cps real apple juice,1 stick unsalted butter,and 1 TS Jeffs rub) Figure to mop them every so often with the injection sauce as well.

Sorry for the ramble but thanks again to all who contribute all the great information here and to Jeff for this place and his Awesome RUB recipe. Here are a couple of pics using my cheesy cell phone.
icon_rolleyes.gif

Johnny B
eed7907c_vbattach22856.jpg

e9e2872c_vbattach22857.jpg

ffabc266_vbattach22858.jpg