Hey from the midwest

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

halfabrotha

Original poster
Apr 9, 2012
Omaha, NE
Hey,

My names Jason and I live near Omaha, NE with my wife and three kids.  I’m a systems engineer for an internet company.  Between family, work, church, and going back to school I am VERY busy.  My motorcycle and playing the occasional video game keep me sane…. mostly.

I’m new to the forum (duh) and still pretty “green” when it comes to smoking.   I’ve got the most experience smoking turkey since I do a couple of them for Thanksgiving just about every year.  I’ve also smoked a few chickens, pork ribs (awesome), beef ribs (terrible), and a brisket or two.  I’m partial to a mix of charcoal and (light smoke)  wood logs.   Most smokes I use apple wood, love that aroma and flavor.

Currently I have a rusted out brinkman offset.  I actually got it free from my father, who got it for mowing some older folk’s lawn.   He brought it over 8 or 9 years ago for a BBQ at my house and never took it back home since he had a gas grill and really isn’t into cooking/bbqing.

Current rig is a mess because I did not take care of it.   I’m to the point that I either need to actually sink some money into it (and start taking care of it) OR buy something new (and taking care of it).  This is how I landed on SMF.