Help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bountyhunter

Fire Starter
Original poster
Sep 2, 2012
I am a complete rookie at this smoking thing, lots of reading not much doing. I have a Weber One touch Silver BBQ-22.5". I attempting my first turkey.  I am trying to attain temps around that 300* mark. One chimmey full of coals was lit and banked on one side of the grill. After one hour in I have temps of 300+ at the top of the lid but the air temp at  the turkey itself is 255. I have a digital probe stuck in a potato close to the turkey. Is this hot enough?

I'm betting as that turkey heats up you will see your grate temp go up. 255* is fine and no safety issues there.

2 hrs in and added some briquetts and I now have a dome temp 325 and grill temp of 275. It is turning a nice brown. Have not done a  I T yet.

Hello Bountyhunter.  Sounds like you got that tiger by tha tail.  HANG ON!  Your doin fine.  Most of these things aren't rocket science but can be a little intimidating.  Nice to have knowledgeable folks like Dave around to hold your hand a little till you find your feet.  Have fun my friend and don't forget the Qview.  Keeep Smokin!

Danny

Three hrs in and it is staying at 325/275. the breast meat is at 150 and one thigh is at 170 and the other is at 150 so i turned the bird to change the heat a little bit. It sure is looking good tho.

Be sure to send Q-view  ...
biggrin.gif