Help smoking brined bacon & hams

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

paul mondello

Original poster
Dec 3, 2007
Milbridge, Maine
Hi, I am using a masterbuilt electric smoker 100 to 275f. I have bacon that has been in brine for 12 days and is now drying in root cellar. How long and at what temp should I smoke these? One is 5.5# & one at 6.8#. Do I need to refrigerate or freeze the bacon after smoking? Also have fresh ham roasts approx 7# each. These have been brined for 24 days. This is my first attempt and I thought that after brining and smoking you could store the meat without refrigeration or freezing.
I would greatly appreciate any and all help I can get.
Thank you, Paul Mondello in Maine.

Hi Paul and Welcome to SMF from a fellow New Englander! Head over to roll call and introduce yourself there, kind of a tradition.

I have an MES too, but haven't tried what you're asking. Someone will be along soon enough to answer your question, though.
icon_smile.gif

If your 7lb ham has brined for 24 days, it's done. I use pork butt for hams these days and ony brine for 16-17 days. You did pump it right?

You are probably talking about cold smoking the bacon and ham for longer storage. Smoking the hams at 100 or below. (Hot smoking cooks the meat)
Properly cured bacons and hams can be cold smoked for days...I like to cold smoke bacon anywere from 12 hrs to 2 days, depending on the weather.
Hams take longer....(3 days minimum for me)

After curing...hams are supposed to set (in the fridge) for another 2 weeks for salt equalization especially if you dry cure.....I don't always do this when I brine and pump.