Hello

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

garym78

Original poster
Jul 4, 2015
Hi all.

Thanks for the invite to the UK section.

I'm completely new to smoking so I've got a lot to learn!  Indeed I only got interested when I saw on a American FB group related to welding someone had built a smoker, being a plater welder myself I thought "I could build one of those!"

So on complete impulse, here I am, reading lots of recipes and currently building my own smoker.  I've added pictures to the reverse flow part of the main forum but will drop a few below of progress.  Made a few mistakes along the way, and am in no doubt I will be doing some cutting, grinding and welding to make some adjustments later down the line when I get it smoking (well hopefully smoking!)

As I said in the main forum, please be gentle...lol!

Still plenty to do, but on its way!

Reactions: resurrected
Hello Gary.  Glad to have you with us.  I did oil field pressure vessel welding for almost 20 yrs..  Ya got good skills brother!  I assume you are looking for some feedback on the build.  I am not so convinced on the design as is now.  How big is the opening from the firebox to the smoker?  I am concerned with air/heat flow.

Danny

Hi Garry - Welcome to the forum

The build looks great It will certainly give you cooking capacity when it is finished. 

A couple of suggestions/comments...
  • As Danny mentioned, check that you have a sufficient opening between the fire box and the cooking chamber. It may be deceptive but it looks as if it could be quite tight at the moment.
  • Also where are you planning on placing the flue? It does not appear to be showing in your photos.