Hello from SE Louisiana

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

alblancher

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Mar 6, 2009
Louisiana
You know we kind of think we know how to cook down here and to be a bit arrogant I've been Qing and smoking for over 30 years. BUT, I did a brisket the way Dutch and the group described in the stickey and I have been humbled. The best brisket I have ever eaten. So thanks guys for the education.

I just built a 6 x 6 smokehouse and I have 4 hams salt curing to go in it in a couple of weeks. I don't want to waste the smoke so I'll probably have to fix up a couple of pounds of Polish sausage and maybe a pork loin at the same time. Besides, PineyWoods was nice enough to invite me to the North Florida get together and I figure if the sausage is edible I can bring it with me.

Thanks again guys, looking forward to sharing with youall down the road.

P.S. We don't have to list favorite hobbies or most liked movies in the introduction do we?
icon_smile.gif

Welcome alblancher, hope you love this site as much as I do.
Isn't it nice that no matter how long you have been doing any number of things there is no such thing as not being able to learn or discover something new?
I worked in the restaurant industry for around 15 years and only a few years ago learned that brining a piece of meat (especially poultry) turns it from something good or delicious into something melt in your mouth magnanimous!
Glad you decided to join the site, can't wait to see some Qview.
Any chance of posting pics of your smokehouse? I would love to build one, but that is a little more down the road.

Any chance of posting pics of your smokehouse? I would love to build one, but that is a little more down the road.