Hello from NW Indiana

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mchlfore

Original poster
Sep 19, 2013
I am a novice smoker.  I have a Smoky Mountain Series Great Outdoors propane smoker that I bought used and have really enjoyed. Still trying to get the hang of timing on keeping the smoke going constant. And wet or dry chunks of wood. Also asked about stacking different meats in my vertical smoker, whether one would contaminate the other. Also, what is UDS?

Last edited:
welcome1.gif
to SMF!  We are so glad you joined us! I for one don't soak my wood chunks.  They work better dry for my smoker.  The UDS...is an "ugly drum smoker".  There is a list of acronyms in the New Member area.  Some of the wording here are a bit strange until you get used to them.

We love to see pictures of what you are cooking (or what we call q-views here at SMF).  To "upload the q-views" just follow the directions here and it will be easier. If you are using a cell phone, an IPad or a kindle, go to the main SMF page and click the Mobile button. Will make the uploads a bit faster too.

If you didn't read the "Terms of Service" notes.....please do.  There are a few things that everyone should know about those pesky little rules before plunging into the forums and some guidelines of how to interact within the forums. Off site links are not allowed here at SMF per TulsaJeff. Not that you have done anything wrong....just a little bit of FYI for new members!

If you need any help roaming around the forums....just holler!  Happy to help out!

Kat

Last edited: