Hello from Hesperia, Michigan

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

prov1

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Jul 27, 2007
I am totally new to the business of smoking, I am currently in the process of looking to purchase a charcoal/propane smoker. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to start with?

Thank you.

Welcome to the best forum on the net ProV1 glad to have you with us. As far as smokers go its pretty much your preference if you want to set and forget or set up and man a fire all night. Im a wood burner myself but the most popular smoker on here seems to be the GOSM. This is a very addictive hobby we have here but we all love it. Check out the 5 day e-course its loaded with great info and its free.

Welcome from another Michigander, lot of us here these days!
PDT_Armataz_01_34.gif

Hi Pro! If you get a cold one and read through this site you'll see pros and cons of every smoker out there. Good luck with your decision and this is indeed an unbelievable wealth of info on smokin' food.

Hey ProV, You found a great place to assist with your smoker shopping, and I found it can be pretty overwhelming if you try to go it alone. You can get reviews on just about every smoker out there on this site, plus there is probably more information on smoking meat and smokers on this website alone than any other one site out there.

Welcome, and good smoking!

Welcome ProV1 -

There's a wide range of smokers out there and a wide range of prices as well. Look around and get a few ideas. Don't forget to check out the smoking meat store - there's a lot of smokers there too!